WHICH FREEZES FASTEST

I was reluctant to put this paper up, as it is so much worse than the others. It makes me cringe. I remember typing it up the night before it was due (some things never change). I think it was fourth grade, my third school of the year (I moved around a lot as a little kid!). It may even have been my first science project–a weak excuse, but bear with me!

REASEARCH FOR: “WHICH FREEZES FASTEST?”

As you should know, I am doing a project on the freezing time of different liquids, so that is what my research is about. In this paper the following questions will be answered: Does the percentage of water affect the freezing time? Does the volume of water affect the freezing time? And does the motion of water affect the freezing time?

Does the percentage of water effect when it freezes? The answer is yes. Water molecules crystallize faster than other molecules so a substance with a higher water percentage would more rapidly freeze. (When one gets frost-bite or frost-burn their’ water are becoming jagged crystals, and in a really bad case, bursting through the cells’ walls. Ouch!!)

Yes, the volume of water does effect the freezing time. Why? Because it makes it take longer for the cold to reach the center. Which would freeze faster: A barrel of water or a cup of water? A cup of course!

The motion of water does effect when it freezes, but it is hard to say if it speeds up the process or slows it down. A rapidly moving stream will not freeze because the cold doesn’t get a chance to settle. However, if there is a completely still pond, unfrozen, but in cold weather, and an acorn or like drops into it, the water around where it has dropped will immediately begin to freeze outward because the cold air will get a chance to mix in.

Now for the answers to the three questions at the top: Percentage—yes. Volume—yes. Motion—yes. So the basic answer here is yes. YES. I sure hope you’ve learned something new in reading this, cause’ I’ve learned a lot in writing it.

The instant-pond-freezing thing is probably based on overhearing a description of super-cooling, which is pretty awesome.

5 responses to “WHICH FREEZES FASTEST

  1. ANNA WHAT ELSE WILL AFFECT THE FREEZING? TEMPERATURE? THE MOON? WIND?

  2. Goodness! I never knew so much about liquids freezing! I take it you were just doing water, not any other liquids.

    I would like to see the acorn effect on a pond.

    • Despite my intro’s reference to “different liquids,” yes, just water. I think I put salt in one ice-cube tray to demonstrate percentage, and kept opening the freezer and shaking the ice cube tray when doing the motion experiment.

  3. . . . Which WHAT? ANNA IS IT JUST ABOUT WATER HOW WILL I LEARN????

Leave a Reply

