Puns

My friends and I pun around a lot. In earnest? For sport? It is difficult to say. Constantly, at any rate. It has gotten to the point where I am more likely to say the pun than to say the word upon which the pun is based. These puns aren’t even good–by which I mean they are awesome. Or should I say: BOSSome? Here are several of the most common puns utilized by me and my pals:

(Im)PASTAble: (Im)possible + pasta

(Im)PAWSible: (Im)possible + paws (done with a pawlike swipe)

(Im)PAWSTAble: (Im)possible + paws + pasta

ConGRADUATIONS:  Like I need to explain. This got a lot of use in the last month of school, but also all the time!

ConGRABulations: To congratulate someone on seizing something, like a job or a man or something.

That sounds grape! : This is to be said totally casually. 80% of the time, they think you said “great!”

APARROTly so!: Parrot + apparently.

What’s hampening? : Hampshire + happening. This is not mine, but Rory’s! Delivered casually.

Tanks! : Instead of Thanks.

Sew what? : retort –> Sew buttons!

Zounds good!

Czech it out! : You only know this one is being pulled if you are chatting!

BEE right back! : Thanks Alison, for reminding me!

What’s GNU : not used more often than “what’s new?” but still a regular. Hard G.

6 responses to “Puns

  1. You forgot BEE! As in, “I’ll BEE right there!” It’s gotten to the point where, in general, if we use words with multiple meanings we’ll just emphasize them.

  2. I have to say: these, while totally sawesome, sound to me more like portmanteaus than puns…

    • Is it a portmanteau if you do not combine the meanings, as well as the words? “Sounds grape” does not communicate anything related to grapes! Fergalicious, though, communicates both Fergie and delicious!
      I will concede that congraduations and congrabulations are portmanteaus, but I assure you they are rarely used except when congratulations is the only word that is appropriate to the situation!
      Actually, I guess hampening could be one too.

  3. Yeah, and considering I graduated from Hampshire a few years ago, that one is not exactly appropriate either.

  4. What about “knot” as in “No, it’s KNOT my bag”?

    Also, I think “hampening” can also be attributed to the napkin dispensers on the tables in the Hampshire dining hall. One for the ages!

  5. I have never heard you say, “That’s grape!” DO THIS MOAR.

Leave a Reply

