Call Me

When my cellphone goes off, I react the way that most anybody would–keeping in mind, of course, that most everybody was born, lived, and died before cellphones existed at all.

I am FRIGHTENED.

I am CONFUSED.

Oh jeez! What! What is happening?

It’s in my POCKET!! Something angry, buzzing, screaming! Alive!

I scrabble and claw at it until it’s out of my pocket, and it’s EVEN LOUDER and now it’s got the name of a dear friend or beloved family member flashing on its angry face (EERIE!), or a number I don’t even KNOW! The devil himself, perhaps?!

Stop it! Stop it!

I whip it open and put it on my ear.

“…Hello???? …Hello?!

“Woah!–Did I wake you up?”

My mind clears. My pulse steadies. It’s just a phone.

3 responses to “Call Me

  1. I HAVE SEEN YOU DO THIS SO MANY TIMES

  2. You are like a puppy! A puppy with a cell phone!

  3. I have attempted to avert the terror by always keeping my phone without sound, but the vibration nonetheless always freaks me the fuck out.

Leave a Reply

